The big paradox

8 Nov

Well, I make this post sound very philosophical but it has to do with weddings! It is however something I guess we can apply to anything: travels, parties, …

What is ‘that’?
I realised this morning (really? only this morning?) that I cannot wait until our wedding in February. I have so many friends who are making the trip from Europe (and beyond) and being able to see them and have a holiday with them has been something I have wanted for years and it is all happening now. So I really cannot wait until February 2011.
But on the other side – when it’s happened, it’s over. It’s in the past. No more looking forward to it, no more planning, no more creating details for the day, no more excited expectations… It’s in the past. It will be certainly the best memories ever, but it is nonetheless in the past.

For me, this is the biggest paradox, contradiction, what ever you want to call it. You just cannot wait to be there but you are not looking forward to it being over. Heartbreaking situation.

But I still cannot wait, I will just have to make sure I enjoy the journey till that day.

Credit: Photography by Andre Teixeira / Branco Prata

5 Responses to “The big paradox”

  1. Naomi November 8, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Live in the moment and the moment will forever live in you. As you sort of summarized…you have to enjoy the now. When the time comes the celebration will end on the physical plane…but a marriage is a constant celebration of the love you and Robin will share with your friends and loved ones as the years go by, forever. Celebrations in “Forever” never end.

    • Steph November 8, 2010 at 8:15 am #

      This is a great advice Nay! You are amazing! Thank you. I figure that I cannot stop time so better live it to the fullest and find myself a great project after the wedding is done, to keep my ‘creative’ and ‘crafty’ mind occupied. May well start my own business for real! :D

  2. Erin*Sparkle&Hay November 8, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    xoxoxo

  3. Jeremy November 8, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    I’m absolutely convinced that the real adventure lies in the journey more than the destination, but that even the destination we have in mind is really just part of the greater journey of our lives. Enjoy it all and cherish your memories!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The big paradox « Inspire me… -- Topsy.com - November 8, 2010

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Stephanie Dunant, Stephanie Dunant. Stephanie Dunant said: Being a bit philosophical today – the big paradox: http://wp.me/pq5Lm-aL [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

