And the bridesmaids are…

9 Mar

Ok. This blog wasn’t meant to be all about wedding but let’s face it, I am planning  my wedding and it just is the type of things inspiring me at the moment.

There are so many things to think about and the worst part is certainly a budget and sticking to it but one of the highlights and fun parts of organising a wedding is announcing to your bridesmaids that you have chosen them.

I am lucky enough to know they will not say no! And they are lucky enough that I think they shouldn’t pay for their own dresses. So I kept them to three!

The way I chose them was simple. It needed to make sense and feel right. I just can’t go choosing anyone. It wasn’t about the number either, although Robin wanted to make sure we were matching numbers on either side. But I tried to think and let my heart talk.

The maid of honour, Malou, has been my best friend since we were 15 and happens to now be the partner of my fiance’s twin brother (go figure! 😀 hah!). Again, it just made sense. We’ve been through a lot together and it just felt natural. Yadira, my little Mexican sister is number two. She represents one aspect of my life before Robin that was really important. Besides, she is the one who told me to “go for it” when I was mentioning to her that I liked him. Finally, there is Sarita. Sarita is my new life “sister”. I met her at the same time as I met Robin and we have known each other since then. She’s been a great friend for me and it also made sense because we are all kind of connected!

Choosing the bridesmaids should have nothing to do with the way they look or how cool they are going to be (although this could work for you). I think it’s about the History, the meaning and whether you think they will be there for you through the whole process and beyond!

I know those girls are gems and I am happy to have them by my side for this adventure!

Leave a Reply

