It doesn’t have to be a flower

2 Nov

When I think about the bride and bridesmaids’ bouquets, I am thinking – it doesn’t have to be flowers. But mainly what I am thinking is – it doesn’t have to be a bouquet.

When you look for inspiration for alternatives to bridal bouquets, all you find is another bouquet but made with something else than flowers: lollies, papers, feathers, cloths, buttons,… You name it. But in my hunt for something different, I am not wanting to think bouquet at all.

If I were to have a bouquet, I want real flowers. I want something like babies breath, like cacti: something organic and different (although I see a lot of those on the blog market lately). But I am not after roses or lilies or other typical flowers from bridal bouquets.

Credits: Wild Flowers  | Succulent bouquet – Chris & Kelly by Erin Hearts Court (via Once Wed)

But in fact, I am trying to think a little different and have something that is not a bouquet, more like an accessory: fashion accessory or fun accessory. Something different.

An elegant, bright clutch could be fun. And you get yourself a present for your bridesmaids at the same time.

Credit: {AO3} Designs

Balloons are fun too but it doesn’t fit with our wedding vision.

Lanterns or fire logs would be great for a night time wedding but I don’t get one of those. Sad!

I like the idea of a nice sun umbrella – it is practical at the same time. It’s been done before but it doesn’t mean it’s not a great alternative.

Winter weddings can have muffs! I think that is really cool.

Credits: Unknown | Photography by The Schultzes (via Aislinn Events)

Basically, there are options out there. It is just a question to find the one that fits our vision, theme and personality. Whatever it is, it just doesn’t have to be flowers.

Credit: Photography by Natalie Moser

3 Responses to “It doesn’t have to be a flower”

  1. Aleah + Nick Valley November 2, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Love the balloons; how fun is that?! When ladies carry something other than flowers, we really dig it!

    • Steph November 2, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

      Yes. I agree. Something different and maybe even something they get to keep. Something that shows more the personality. I like flowers but I am just open to think about other things 🙂 A map maybe? haha! Or even a compass!…

  2. Alexandra November 10, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Big fan of the parasols! Never thought to do balloons, but what a sweet idea! Very unique.

Leave a Reply

