…Let the fun begin… …Elegant Decay {1}…

11 Nov

This is a pretty special post today and I hope you will enjoy the experience with us. We are the first of a long series of amazing wedding blogs to launch the Elegant Decay photo series. This is beyond just being part of an amazing collective of wedding bloggers and vendors (we’re the #TWIPS on Twitter and you find us on twitter under the #ElegantDecay hash-tag for this particular initiative.).

In fact, it means a lot to me as a bride looking for inspiration for my wedding.

I still have a few weeks to look forward to before the big day (99 days to be exact!). And for sure, I still look everywhere for inspiration on how to choose the perfect dress, pick the perfect colours, create the perfect centrepiece… but I would never want for my well-styled, hard-worked-on table setting to remain the perfect picture I have in mind, like a lifeless image – I want people to live it, enjoy it, turn it into a space, which experienced fun and laughs.

I don’t mind the wine stains, the candlewax, the breadcrumbs… Bring it all on!

For me, the photo below represents just that: the fun you will be having on your perfect day and the memories you will be creating with your guests and for your guests! This photo and those that you will find on all the other participating blogs represent the ‘perfectness‘ of a day that was enjoyed and lived!

So right now, I know I cannot wait for my own Elegant Decay on the 18th of February 2011!

But first, more about the shoot:
We’re  Aleah + Nick Valley of Valley & Co. and we’re so excited to partner with some of our most favorite blogosphere friends for this Blog Around the World: Elegant Decay post! Today you’re invited to a worldwide scavenger hunt on these awesome blogs where you’ll find snippets of our Elegant Decay photo shoot, designed to show off the after effects of a celebration: fun! We all spend so long putting together amazing designs and tablescapes for our couples, and this shows off the end result {and the most important element}: enjoyment. We hope you enjoy this – thank you to all of our friends for participating and be sure to visit these other fabulous blogs for more photos, ideas, tips, and fun!

Design + styling & JOY cards: Aleah + Nick Valley of Valley & Co. www.valleyandco.com
Photography: Jeremy Leffel www.jeremyleffel.com
Floral design: Anne Bradfield of Floressence www.floressencedesign.com
Crystal & marble decorative candle accents: vintage pieces from Nick’s mom
Venue, dessert, & drinks: Palace Ballroom by Tom Douglas www.tomdouglas.com
Linens: Choice Linens www.choicelinens.com
Chairs, silverware, and china: AA Party Rentals www.aapartyrents.com

Be sure to check out the other photos. They will be released every 15min from now! See below for links and order.

1: Bubble Rock @stephbubble
2: Magnolia Rouge @rubyandwillow
3: Cap Classique @capclassique
4: Brancoprata @brancoprata
5: The Demoiselle @The_Demoiselle
6: Engaged + Inspired @EngagedInspired
7: Postcards and Pretties @postcrdsprettie
8: Paper Garland @papergarland
9: Sparkle and Hay @sparkleandhay
10: Superburbs @superburbs
11: Every Last Detail @ELD_Lauren
12: Brenda’s Wedding Blog @weddingsites
13: Niche White @NicheWhite
14: Simply and Forever @KatieSaeger
15: Bride Goggles @BrideGoggles
16: Landlocked Bride @LandlockedBride
17: Forget Me Knot Weddings @forgetmeknotwed
18: Fabulously Wed @fabulouslywed
19: The Bride Suite @thebridesuite
20: Enchanted Dreams Wedding & Affairs @NaomiVGoodman
21: Marry You Me @MarryYouMe
22: Luna and Chloe Weddings @lunaandchloe
23: La Petite Coquin @lapetitecoquin
24: Glamour and Grace Weddings @GlamandGraceWed

28 Responses to “…Let the fun begin… …Elegant Decay {1}…”

  1. Kim @BrideGoggles November 11, 2010 at 5:11 am #

    Such an awesome way to kick off the middle of the week!!!

  2. Brancoprata November 11, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    I have a huge smile on my face right about now 😉

  3. Super Burbs November 11, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    Bring on the wine stains for sure! And let the Elegant Decay fun begin!

  4. postcards and pretties November 11, 2010 at 5:58 am #

    eek!! 99 more days to go!!

  5. Brit @ Landlocked Bride November 11, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    Oh, loving this first image! Cannot wait to see the rest!

  6. Kate/MagnoliaRouge November 11, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    Great way to start Steph!

  7. The Demoiselle November 11, 2010 at 6:45 am #

    The decor is phenomenal of course but I also appreciate the environment. The indoor brick walls really add something to the warmth of the tablescape.

  8. Alexandra November 11, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    The after-effects of a wedding well done, and best of all, ENJOYED! Great start to Elegant Decay Steph!! 🙂

  9. paloma November 11, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    that tall centerpiece is just gorg! ❤

  10. theunrealbride November 11, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Wheee! I’m loving it already! Off to my next stop (the best part of being a bit late in the entire process is I don’t need to wait to see the next post!) Toodloooo!!!

    • Steph November 11, 2010 at 8:46 am #

      I know. I scheduled my post but then as soon my eyes opened this morning I was on the iPhone trying to catch up! This is brilliant! 😀

  11. capclassique November 11, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Great start! We’ll have to get Andre to replicate this shot at the end of the night in 99 days! 🙂

    • Steph November 11, 2010 at 10:22 am #

      Oh. This would be absolutely brilliant!!

  12. Naomi November 11, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Way to go Steph…great way to start!

  13. Alicia November 11, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    I hear you are the brains behind this brilliance! Kudos to you! My favorite part about wedding planning was getting immersed into the world of wedding blogs and TWIPS! This proves even further how incredible you all are!

    • Steph November 11, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

      Thanks Alicia. I’d like to believe it was a combined effort and nothing of that size and reach would ever happen without the never-ending supports of so many others. I have learned a great deal today and have been for quite sometime now and the #TWIPS on twitter is one of the best things that has ever happened to me. So thank you so much for such kind words! xx

  14. Annie @ Marry You Me November 11, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Loved today so much! Thanks for thinking of it Steph!

    • Steph November 11, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

      I loved it to the max as well. Still gives me butterflies in the stomach! 🙂

  15. nichewhite November 11, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Awww, I loved having a bride’s perspective first! A lucky bride is the one that can fill these tables and have them look like this at the end of the night: well loved and used! Enjoy the next 99 days Steph!

  16. Karena November 11, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    What a fun, fun endeavor so creative. Love it!

    Come and enter my New Giveaway from Empress of the Eye. You will love it!

    xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

  17. Funny pics November 13, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    nice

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention …Let the fun begin… …Elegant Decay {1}… « Inspire me… -- Topsy.com - November 11, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brittany Horton, Aleah + Nick Valley, Mindy, McKay Pittman, Alicia and others. Alicia said: Fabulous idea. RT @superburbs: RT @stephbubble: Let the fun begin: Elegant Decay {1}: http://wp.me/pq5Lm-aC #ElegantDecay #TWIPS […]

  2. Blog Around The World II: Out of Africa # 3 | The Unreal Bride - July 21, 2011

    […] Lovelies! I am Alicia from The Charity Wedding and I am excited to present another round of Blog Around the World with some of my favorite wedding bloggers! I recently helped organized a styled shoot using the […]

  3. Blog Around the World: Out Of Africa #6 ~ The Thrill Of The Chase | Bridal Musings - July 21, 2011

    […] am Alicia from The Charity Wedding and I am excited to present another round of Blog Around the World with some of my favorite wedding bloggers! I recently helped organized a styled shoot using the […]

  4. The Oceanside Bride » Blog Around the World {Out of Africa: Lucky #7} - July 21, 2011

    […] Lovelies! I am Alicia from The Charity Wedding and I am excited to present another round of Blog Around the World with some of my favorite wedding bloggers! I recently helped organized a styled shoot using the […]

  5. Blog Around the World: Vintage Safari Soiree #16 | landlocked bride™ | midwest + mountain west wedding inspiration - July 21, 2011

    […] Lovelies! I am Alicia from The Charity Wedding and I am excited to present another round of Blog Around the World with some of my favorite wedding bloggers! I recently helped organized a styled shoot using the […]

  6. Blog Around the World: Out of Africa #15 | Fab You Bliss - August 9, 2011

    […] Lovelies! I am Alicia from The Charity Wedding and I am excited to present another round of Blog Around the World with some of my favorite wedding bloggers! I recently helped organized a styled shoot using the […]

Leave a comment